Results from the Express Open presented by York

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (February 15, 2007) – The Express Open presented by York wrapped up on Wednesday evening from the Lazy E Arena in Guthrie, Okla. More than 225 cowboys faced off for the opportunity to be one of ten men to move on to the $1,000,000 U.S. Smokeless Challenger Tour Championship presented by Dickies on February 16-18 at the Ford Center.

The ten qualifiers are:

  • Cody Byars (Marietta, Okla.)
  • Chad Castillo (Carthage, Texas)
  • Ned Cross (Midland, Ore.)
  • Jaime Dos Santos (North Port, Fla.)
  • Davey Dyke (Fremont, Iowa)
  • Jordan Hupp (Cheyenne, Wyo.)
  • Cole Taylor (Sayre, Okla.)
  • Garret Vig (Newell, S.D.)
  • Clayton Williams (Carthage, Texas)
  • McKennon Wimberly (Cool, Texas)

Iowa’s Davey Dyke (Fremont) won the event with 327 points on four bulls. Dyke was the only rider to cover all four bulls during the three-day long competition. “It feels awesome,” Dyke said regarding his first PBR win. “I came in with high hopes but I questioned myself. It’s become a reality. It’s definitely one of the biggest wins of my career.

Dyke’s only other PBR earnings came from an Enterprise Rent-A-Car Tour Event in Sioux City, Iowa held earlier this year. For his efforts during the Express Open presented by York he earned $21,222. He now carries $23,819 in PBR bucks – enough to bump him to the lead in the 2007 U.S. Smokeless Tobacco Company Challenger Tour Standings.

With the first half of the biggest bull riding event in Oklahoma history wrapped up, the 10 men will now move on to the Ford Center in Oklahoma City for the Professional Bull Riders’ (PBR) U.S. Smokeless Challenger Tour Championship presented by Dickies. The top names in professional bull riding will be gunning for a share of the $1 million purse up for grabs over the next three action-packed performances – February16 – 18. The event will air on VERSUS, Saturday and Sunday at 8 p.m. Eastern Time.

Express Open presented by York Results:

Round 1: 1) Kyle Sherwood (Talala, Okla.) 88 points, $3,216; 2) Royce Jennings (Seneca, Neb.) 87.5 points, $2,297; 3) Sam Smith (Sulpher Springs, Texas) 86.5 points, $1,378; 4/5) Cole Hermanson (Mandan, N.D.) 85.5 points, $735; 4/5) Tyler Smith (Fruita, Colo.) 85.5 points, $735.

Round 2: 1) Cole Taylor (Sayre, Okla.) 87.5 points, $3,675; 2/3) Clayton Williams (Carthage, Texas) 87 points, $2,297; 2/3) Cameron Mullins (Tucson, Ariz.) 87 points, $2,297; 4) Jarod Wright (Golden Valley, Ariz.) 86.5 points, $919.

Wild Card Round: 1) Ty Elliott (Vernon, B.C., Canada) 87.5 points, $7,638; 2) Aaron Roy (Asquith, S.K., Canada) 86.5 points, $5,456; 3/5) Ned Cross (Midland, Ore.) 86 points, $2,255; 3/5) Cody Ford (Stanfield, Ore.) 86 points, $2,255; 3/5) Marcus Michaelis (Caldwell, Idaho) 86 points, $2,255.

Round 3: 1) Cole Taylor (Sayre, Okla.) 88.5 points, $3,675; 2/3) Cody Whitney (Asher, Okla.) 86 points, $2,297; 2/3) Clayton Williams (Carthage, Texas) 86 points, $2,297; 4/5) Jordan Hupp (Cheyenne, Wyo.) 85 points, $459; 4/5) Cole Hermanson (Mandan, N.D.) 85 points, $459.

Express Open presented by York (total on 4):

1) Davey Dyke (Fremont, Iowa) 327 points, $21,222; 2) Ned Cross (Midland, Ore.) 261 points, $14,791; 3) Cole Taylor (Sayre, Okla.) 260 points, $8,360; 4) Clayton Williams (Carthage, Texas) 257.5 points, $5,788; 5) Cody Byars (Marietta, Okla.) 250 points, $4,502; 6) Chad Castillo (Lipan, Texas) 249.5 points, $3,216; 7) Jordan Hupp (Cheyenne, Wyo.) 249 points, $2,572; 8 ) Jaime Dos Santos (North Port, Fla.) 245.5 points, $1,929; 9) McKennon Wimberly (Cool, Texas) 245 points, $1,286; 10) Garret Vig (Newell, S.D.) 242 points, $643.

Daisy TwoBulls Protective Bullfighting Results:After three days of competition in the Daisy TwoBulls Protective Bullfighting contest, the top five teams were brought back to arena to fight for the event title. The winners of the competition were the Humps N Horns News team of Ryan Wilson (Kennewick, Wash.) and Jesse Tennent (Springfield, Ore.).