“Quote of the Week”

“I have a really good understanding of what Richard Petty has meant to our sport because I come from a racing family myself. He is one of the guys that helped make the dream of growing up to become a racecar driver a reality for a lot of kids. I’m so proud to be a part of the 50tth anniversary this weekend and honored to carry the 50th Anniversary paint scheme on the hood of the #43. Everyone, especially NASCAR and the folks at Chicagoland Speedway have jumped on board to help us out this weekend with stuff to honor ‘The King’. It’s going to be a lot of fun.”

Bobby Labonte Driver – No. 43 Richard Petty’s 50th Anniversary Dodge


• Richard Petty made his first start on July 12, 1958 in

NASCAR’s convertible series. In his 35-year career as a

driver, he amassed remarkable numbers:

  • 200 wins
  • 1,185 starts
  • 7 NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
  • 7 Daytona 500 wins
  • 27 wins in a season (1967)
  • 10 consecutive wins (1967)

• This week, NASCAR celebrates the Golden Anniversary

of Richard “The King” Petty.


• Ryan Newman, driver No. 12 Alltel Dodge, is the

youngest Sprint Cup winner at Chicagoland Speedway.

Newman was 26 years, 7 months, 5 days old when he

won the 2003 Tropicana 400.

• The first ever gasoline-powered motor car race was held

up-and-down the Chicago lakefront in 1895. The contest

required vehicles to have at least three wheels and be

able to carry at least two people, one of whom was to be

an umpire selected by the judges to ride with the driver

during the race. The race winner, J. Frank Duryea.

• No NSCS race at Chicagoland Speedway has been won

from the pole or from the same starting position.

• All four manufacturers have won at least three races this


• All four manufacturers are represented in the top 12.


• The height of the grandstands at Chicagoland is 15

stories tall, the same height as the Navy Piers Ferris

Wheel in downtown Chicago.

Chicagoland Speedway sits on 930 acres of land, which

is large enough to accommodate 42 United Centers

(Home of the Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks), making it

the largest sporting facility in Illinois.

• The D-shaped track has 18 degrees of banking in the

turns, 11 degrees in the tri-oval and five degrees on the


• Only Dodge and Chevrolet have posted wins at the Dshaped


Chase Contenders

(after 18 of 36 Races)

Driver Points

Kyle Busch 2,686

Dale Earnhardt Jr. -182

Jeff Burton -202

Carl Edwards -249

Jimmie Johnson -367

Jeff Gordon -437

Denny Hamlin -446

Kasey Kahne -509

Matt Kenseth -520

Clint Bowyer -527

Greg Biffle -533

Tony Stewart -541